| Home | Tri-County Litter Prevention & Recycling | History | Programs | Calendar | Events | Get Involved | Documents | F.A.Q. | Links |

In 1992, the Cumberland Plateau Planning District's member counties of Buchanan, Dickenson and Russell were approached by the PDC's Executive Director.  He approached them with the question of what was their future management of solid waste disposal and transportation.  At the same time, the Commonwealth of Virginia was had passed new landfill closure regulations on existing and future landfills, which for many rural counties was cost prohibited to continue landfill operations.  From this initial contact the regional solid waste authority concept was born.  In 1993, the first of the three solid waste transfer station was completed in Dickenson County, closely followed by the completion of the Russell County transfer station.  Due to some hurdles and determining an appropriate site location, the Buchanan County transfer station was not completed until 1994.  Since the creation of the Cumberland Plateau Regional Waste Managment Authority, it has been governed by a 7 member board of directors--2 representatives from Buchanan County, 2 rpresentatives from Dickenson County, 2 representatives from Russell and 1 member of the CPPDC.  In addition to the board of directors, a CPPDC staff member is charged with the day to day operations of all three solid waste transfer station.

The Cumberland Plateau Regional Waste Management Authority’s 2004 Regional Solid Waste Management Plan encouraged the hiring of a regional litter prevention and recycling coordinator.  As outlined in the SWM plan, this position would assist member counties’ litter and recycling offices with increasing the regions recycling rate.  Funding for this position is made possible by the member counties.

In August of 2004, the Cumberland Plateau Regional Waste Authority hired a Regional Litter Prevention and Recycling Coordinator. Funding for this position is provide by the three member counties and a grant from the Appalachian Regional Commission http://www.arc.gov/

Since the creation of this new position, member counties have meet monthly to discuss, plan and implement programs that would increase their county’s recycling rate and address litter issues facing their county.

In August of 2005, the CPRWMA was awarded a grant from the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC).  This grant will provide funding for administration of litter prevention and recycling activities within the three counties.  All three member counties have committed to providing match for this grant through program activities and outreach materials.

Board of Directors

Buchanan County:
Mr. Earl Rife
Mr. Harold "Buddy" Fuller

Dickenson County:
Mr. Damon Rasnick
Mr. Donnie Rife

Russell County
Mr. Frank Horton
Mr. Danny Brown

Mr. Andrew Chafin, Treasurer
Mr. Toby F. Edwards, Director
Ms. Kelly O'Quinn, Secretary


Phone: (276)889-1778
Fax: (276)889-5732
Email: tobyedwards@bvunet.net
224 Clydesway Drive
Lebanon, VA 24266

(c)2007. All rights reserved. Design by: neerG sirhC.