| Home | Tri-County Litter Prevention & Recycling | History | Programs | Calendar | Events | Get Involved | Documents | F.A.Q. | Links |


elcome to the Cumberland Plateau Regional Waste Management Authority, providing solid waste management for the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson and Russell.

ll three member counties joined the CPRWMA in the spring of 1992 forming a nonprofit organization. Since its creation, the CPRWMA has provided economical and sound waste disposal and recycling programs for its members.

tarting in 2004, the CPRWMA developed and has implemented many successful regional litter prevention and recycling programs.

Three regional transfer stations are Owned and Operated by the Authority:

         Buchanan County Solid Waste Transfer Station                                1912 Buchanshire Rd, Keen Mountain, VA.
                                               Telephone 276-498-4403
Photo Courtesy of Danny Davis
           Dickenson County Solid Waste Transfer Station                               322 Dog Branch Gap Road, Fremont, VA.                                               Telephone 276-835-1024
 Photo Courtesy of Kevin Kiser
               Russell County Solid Waste Transfer Station                                   1786 Century Farm Rd, Castlewood, VA.                                                Telephone 276-794-7826
                 Photo Courtesy of Lance Phillips
Education and Outreach programs are provided to the member counties and their local solid waste and litter and recycling departments. Many regional programs and presentations are offered to our students and adults.  One of the best examples of youth education outreach is the Groundwater Festival for 6th grade students.  This environmental education program was developed in 2001 and has became an annual event for teachers and school systems in Buchanan, Dickenson and now Russell Counties.

For more information about the Authority and its programs, please contact CPRWMA at (276) 883-5403 or email toby@cprwma.com

Board of Directors

Buchanan County:
Mr. Earl Rife
Mr. Jeff Cooper

Dickenson County:
Mr. Damon Rasnick
Mr. Ron Peters

Russell County
Mr. Tim Lovelace
Mr. Carl Rhea

Mr. Toby F. Edwards, Director
Ms. Saundra Honaker, Finance 


Phone: (276) 883-5403
Fax: (276) 873-6385
Email: tobyedwards@bvunet.net
135  Highland Drive, Suite C
P.O. Box 386
Lebanon, VA 24266

(c)2007. All rights reserved. Design by: neerG sirhC.